With version control, you can track every change that you apply to your training items. You can undo the change or revert to an earlier version.

To access version control:

  1. Open an existing training item from the 'Create' section in the authoring tool (edit mode)

  2. Click on Versions from the top right of the screen

  3. Choose a version of the item from the list

  4. Preview the version or Revert to a previous version

How to undo or redo your changes in the authoring tool:

  1. Make a change to your training item like removing text, adding text, adding an image, video etc.

  2. Click the undo button from the top right of the screen to undo the change

  3. Click the redo button to bring back the change

The difference between a Major and a Minor version update:

There are two types of version updates. A major update, and a minor update. You will be able to choose between these two types every time you 'save and exit' a training item.

Minor update

This is when you make a minor change to a training item, like
 tweak an image or fix a typo. Such changes
 do not affect the learner’s
 understanding of the
 subjects in question, and therefore the training item does not need to be reassigned to the learner. The training item version will be iterated from eg. v 1.0 to v 1.1 to reflect the minor change.

Major update

This is when you change the training 
item fundamentally. The 
information added
 or removed may therefore 
affect the learner’s 
understanding of the
 subject in question and can be reassigned to the learner when the update is made. The training item version will be iterated from eg. v 1.0 to v 2.0 to reflect the major change.

Assign versions

If you assign a course to users, always the latest version of the course will be assigned. Within the track section you will see which particular version was assigned to a user. When you save a Major version, the system will give you the option to re-assign users who have been assigned to previous versions to the latest version.

Learning Path versions

If you are updating a course that is used within a Learning Path, the system will automatically create a new minor version of the Learning Path for you. If you are adding or deleting a course within a Learning Path, the system will automatically save a major version for you.

This will allow you to have learners on different versions of the Learning Path. If you require learners to be on the latest version, you reassign the users to the Learning Path. Within the assign view you can now filter for previous versions.

Did this answer your question?